Preparing before drying

A forum for discussing the various ways this mushroom can be prepared.
Icucmyclieum

Preparing before drying

Post by Icucmyclieum » Mon Oct 28, 2019 9:16 pm

Hi there,

As a total newbie to picking and preparing AM until this year I am finding this forum really interesting and dreamers videos great so thank you to everyone involved and posting some great info. I’m getting absorbed by this special happy and very beautiful mushroom.

My question if anyone could help is...would you say it is better to remove the gills from the cap before drying or to leave the cap intact? I read that the Muscimol is only present in the top and layer just underneath, is this correct?

Also any tips for harvesting as I seem to be getting to them after the deer, squirrels and greedy slugs in the UK.

Thanks 😊

UrsusSapiens

Re: Preparing before drying

Post by UrsusSapiens » Tue Oct 29, 2019 9:03 am

I read that the Muscimol is only present in the top and layer just underneath, is this correct?
And WHERE exactly did you read that? Fact is: in fresh or air-dried AMs the ibotenic acid outweighs the muscimol content. That's the reason why everybody wants to do a conversion process... Because the muscimol is more psychoactive than the ibotenic acid (and less toxic btw). So, there is not much muscimol hidden, wherever you look for it... at least without conversion.
But in our collection of scientific papers you'll find several accounts about the distribution of psychoactive substances within the fruiting body