My First Time. Help!

Feel free to discuss what you want.
MessyEssie

My First Time. Help!

Post by MessyEssie » Wed Nov 20, 2019 1:39 pm

This is my very, very first time harvesting and processing Amanita. I found quite a few growing near my house. I've been watching these for years. This season I decided to pick. So please keep in mind I'm new to this and try to be easy on me.... So after picking these I brought them home to process and they were all filthy. So, Here it goes... I rinsed them. After doing so I realized that maybe this wasn't the wisest thing to do. How is this going to affect my ending result? Any help is appreciated ๐Ÿ„๐Ÿ˜”
These users thanked the author MessyEssie for the post:
T36
๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ„โ˜บ๏ธ

T36

Re: My First Time. Help!

Post by T36 » Wed Nov 20, 2019 2:35 pm

Did you touch the gills??? If not then its ok)))
Just dry em correctly now :mrgreen:
These users thanked the author T36 for the post:
MessyEssie

Amanita_Muscaria_

Post by Amanita_Muscaria_ » Wed Nov 20, 2019 4:17 pm

Just dont dry them in the oven...use dehydrator or dehumidifier
These users thanked the author Amanita_Muscaria_ for the post (total 2):
T36MessyEssie

MessyEssie

Post by MessyEssie » Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:45 am

I do not touch the gills, So I guess that means I'm going to be ok :) I dehydrated to a cracker crisp in my Nesco. Worked great! I think I got a little buzz while processing them. I felt quite good when I was done handling them, Very euphoric and stress free. I think it might have been from me having to snap some of them in half to fit in my jars. This ever happened to anyone or am I just dreaming? Thank you guys for the response โ˜บ๏ธ๐Ÿ„
These users thanked the author MessyEssie for the post:
T36
๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ„โ˜บ๏ธ

Splinters and Shards

Post by Splinters and Shards » Thu Nov 21, 2019 3:39 pm

MessyEssie wrote: โ†‘
Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:45 am