I'm scared I messed up my first tea. Is it salvageable?

Feel free to discuss what you want.
Curious Mushroom

I'm scared I messed up my first tea. Is it salvageable?

Post by Curious Mushroom » Fri Sep 25, 2020 12:32 pm

Hello beautiful people!

So I've never tried amanita muscaria before but I feel very drawn to these mushrooms and I've been obsessively watching @amanitadreamer's videos. Beautiful red fly agaric specimens grow in the woods near my house so I picked some and brought the caps home with me.

Yesterday I tried drying these caps in my fan oven. (I used an oven thermometer to regulate the temperature and had the door cracked open.) I thought it might work because I successfully dried some other caps in my friend's oven the day before that. However, her oven must be different to mine because several of my caps started leaking/getting soggy.

I really didn't want to waste what I had so before they leaked too much, I took them out of the oven and tried to salvage them by making a tea as described in @amanitadreamer's preparation video. I used 15g of the fresh (but now somewhat soggy) caps. I don't think they released all their liquid in the oven because they also released plenty of color into the tea while simmering.

I was worried that by skipping heat-drying, I'd now failed to convert the first 30% of ibotenic acid. So I also added lemon juice to the tea while simmering it because I wanted to make my tea as safe as possible and I was concerned about experiencing nausea while taking it.

Now I have a few questions.

1) I froze this tea very soon after making it. I wanted to ask if the lemon juice will still make the tea go bad quickly or whether freezing should help preserve it. Did I screw up the tea by adding lemon juice so soon? Is it still usable?

I have watched @amanitadreamer's Lemon Tek video but I wasn't sure whether freezing lemony tea means it can still be stored.