A practice run at oven drying

Feel free to discuss what you want.
Matt

A practice run at oven drying

Post by Matt » Mon Oct 19, 2020 8:30 pm

Last night I thought I'd set a couple caps out on the kitchen counter to air dry. Upon reviewing this morning it seemed to me that they would take approximately forever to dry and they were already starting to discolor a bit. I think they would just go mushy and disintegrate before they dried. So I put them in the oven. Before I did so I played around with the fan and keeping the door propped open and tweaking the temperature slightly. What I found to keep the temp between 165F and 174F was a small block of wood propping the door open with the oven set on 180F.
And instead of trying to describe how they look and feel, I just recorded this short video.

This was 2.5 hours with my oven setup. I think another .5 hour might be enough.

Anyway, as stated before I'm a newb and greatly appreciate anyone's thoughts, comments, suggestions on how to prepare Amanita for muscimol entheogenic uses.
Primal Northwest
https://www.primalnw.com

Rebis

Re: A practice run at oven drying

Post by Rebis » Tue Oct 20, 2020 1:50 pm

Matt, most of mine end up looking like that.
Could it be caused bruising? In my case by scraping off the mud, and finger pressure on the underside.
I have a fruit dryer which goes up to 70.C, and it takes all afternoon and night. I don't remove them till the morning on getting up - so roughly anything over fifteen hours.

Rebis.
These users thanked the author Rebis for the post:
Matt

Matt

Post by Matt » Tue Oct 20, 2020 3:45 pm

Rebis wrote:
Tue Oct 20, 2020 1:50 pm
Could it be caused bruising? In my case by scraping off the mud, and finger pressure on the underside.
I have a fruit dryer which goes up to 70.C, and it takes all afternoon and night. I don't remove them till the morning on getting up - so roughly anything over fifteen hours.

Rebis.