Fermented chili pepper/amanita sauce

Feel free to discuss what you want.
Peachy
Has thanked: 0

Fermented chili pepper/amanita sauce

Post by Peachy » Thu Dec 30, 2021 11:31 pm

So Ive been making fermented hot sauce for a few years now. Someone approached me with this article here https://patents.google.com/patent/US20140004084A1/en

So we brainstormed a bit, and I took my Amanita persicina that I picked back in 2017. Weighed about 50g dry caps. Mostly small partially opened caps. I did a warm water extract, about 160F for an hour or so. Strained the solids off as best as I could, and then put the liquid back on the heat to reduce. I got it down to a thick almost goo like paste. Stored it away in the fridge.

I then took about 316 grams of fresh from my plant home grown peppers. Various varieties and heat levels. Also added carrots and fresh ginger root as part of the total weight. I then added 32g of sugar, and 20g of salt( might scale that down a little next time lol). I blended everything together in a blender, and also added the amanita extract previously mentioned. The jars and cookware was all sanitized and in boiling water before use. Allowed to cool down before interacting with the sauce.

I tightened the lid all the way and kept the jar in a cool dark space. Each day burping without opening the lid all the way and if separation occurred I stirred it up. I fermented this for two weeks before the separation stopped and no more burping was necessary. I had one full pint jar of sauce total by the end of it.

According to my calculations I figured about 10-20mL of sauce would be a good dose. Ive been eating it every single night since it 'finished' fermenting. I could keep it going of course but Its very obviously not going to last long lol